The Orthodox synagogue was built in 1898 by the construction company Kollacsek and Wirth. It is a two-story building without towers and is a representative example of a synagogue of a self-secure urban Orthodox community. Relatively austere neo-Romanesque and Moorish façades hide a real treasure of synagogue architecture. The splendidly decorated interior with fully preserved furnishings is certainly amongst the most attractive Jewish monuments in Slovakia. The building is still used as an active prayer hall.
The women’s gallery features the Barkány Judaica Collection, a unique collection assembled by Architect Eugen Bárkány, who found the first Jewish Museum in 1928 in Prešov. As an avid connoisseur of the Judaica, he collected valuable material before World War II in the area of Eastern Slovakia. The exhibition thus provides an exceptional look into the Jewish material culture of this region.
The synagogue is a component of a valuable complex of Orthodox communal institutions (Hassidic synagogue, cheder, rabbinate, ritual slaughter house), which, since the 1880s, the Orthodox community has gradually developed outside the city walls.