Beckov Jewish cemetery is one of the most picturesque ones in Slovakia. Cemetery lies directly upon the slope of the castle hill. Since 1991 it is inscribed on the list of the Slovak cultural monuments. Two parts of the cemetery are divided by the road. The older one with approximately 80 gravestones is located on the eastern part of the sloped plot, while the younger one is directly in front of the entrance to the castle. Approximately 100 gravestones can be found there. History of this cemetery dates back to the year 1683 when first Jews came to the Beckov. These refugees managed to escape from Uhorský Brod, which was plundered by army of Imrich Thököly. In 1689 Beckov count Pongrácz allowed Jews to carry businesses, build prayer hall and found the cemetery. The second cemetery plot was given to Jews in 1734 by count Esterházy. There is a grave of woman called Pas(e)l on the cemetery which testifies this story. As it is curved to the stone, her father Leib came from the holly community (“kehila kadosha“) Broda meaning Uhorský Brod. Unfortunately burial date is unreadable while the oldest gravestones made from sandstone suffer serious destruction. The largest group of the older gravestones dates back to the half of the 19th century. Gravestones are decorated with traditional symbols like Levite’s jar, blessing hands of Cohenim, palm tree and lion. Younger gravestones carved from marble and granite dates back to the beginning of the 20th century up until the World War 2. While local community was rather conservative and orthodox, inscriptions in Hebrew predominate over those in German.